North London: From Highgate to Muswell Hill

I really love my neighborhood. I’m surrounded by parks (Hampstead Heath, Highgate Woods, Queen’s Woods, Alexandra Palace and more!) that once you’re in them you truly forget you live in a city among millions of other people. With the sun no where in sight these days, I am looking back at some photos my husband took during a sunny photowalk in North London. I can almost feel the sun radiating from these photos.

Let’s start with Highgate Woods.

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

From Highgate we went through East Finchley and to Muswell Hill. I lived in Muswell Hill when I was a junior in college, studying abroad. My host family lived there and I loved walking the high street. There’s a few chain stores but quite a few Mom and Pop shops as well. Worth taking a nose through if you’re around.

North London Photo Walk

This pub is a chain (O’Neill’s) but it’s housed in a gorgeous church. It opened while I was studying abroad and it was so welcomed. It had more of a young vibe when compared to the ‘old man’ pubs in the neighborhood.

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

From there we headed to Alexandra Palace, or Ally Pally as the locals affectionately call it.

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

North London Photo Walk

Ally Pally is worth visiting if just for the view.

North London Photo Walk

On sunny days there’s something nice about staying close to home and just seeing what surrounds you. I never get disappointed with what I find.

This entry was published on 10/05/2012 at 12:53 PM. It’s filed under London and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “North London: From Highgate to Muswell Hill

  1. Gorgeous! What great photos!

  2. Emm on said:

    What fabulous photos!!!! That was a beautiful day, when we truly though summer had arrived.

  3. Was that from the walk we went on? Great pics!

  4. Pub in a church? Way cool!!!! We need to have a meet-up in your neck of the woods. I’ve not yet spent any time north of Camden.

  5. Looks like a fabulous neighborhood for exploring!

Leave a Reply

