How to: Pumpkin Puree

This post is coming to you after my bestie asked me how I go about pureeing pumpkins. Sharing is caring, so here is what I do.

When I was about 23 or so I bought a massive pumpkin for decorative purposes. After Halloween was over I was stuck with this pumpkin and figured it was better to puree it than to waste it. I wasn’t a fan of pumpkin pie but after coming across a recipe that called to substitute evaporated milk with melted vanilla ice cream (btw, best way to make a pumpkin pie!) I decided to give it a go. And I haven’t looked back. A pumpkin pie made with fresh ingredients, like most things, is like no other. Heaven!

Start off with a lovely pumpkin or two. Lots of places sell cooking pumpkins. They are small and easy to cut into. As for me, I went for a nice medium-sized one. Lucky for me my husband helped me gut it, which I believe is the hardest, and messiest, part.

puree making

One of two halves. This bad boy weighed a bit under 10lbs. or 4.5 kg.

Once that’s done all the following steps are easy peasy. Pre-heat your oven, 350F or 180C will do. Cut the pumpkin into easily manageable chunks and place them on a baking sheet.

roast pumpkin pieces

You will bake them for 45 minutes or until you can easily cut into them (like a baked potato) with a knife.

puree making

Once the pumpkin pieces have cooled, peel the skin off and cut off any of the overcooked bits. Once you’ve done that it’s time to blitz’em! Throw in all your ready chunks into a food processor or blender and puree away.

puree making

Divide up your pumpkin glory and freeze. I used sandwich bags, putting a cup of puree in each. For ₤2.99 I got all this. A lot better than ₤2.28 for 425g of tinned pumpkin.

2.15kg or 4.75lb of beautiful fresh pumpkin puree

Blitz away and enjoy. And because I am so into sharing today, here’s a link to my favorite pumpkin pie recipe EVER: Cindy’s Pumpkin Pie. Thanks, Cindy. Whoever you are.

What are some of your favorite pumpkin recipes? Please share, I need some!

This entry was published on 30/10/2011 at 4:09 PM. It’s filed under baking, food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “How to: Pumpkin Puree

  1. Thank you thank you! I think this calls for giving it a go myself. I’ll let you know when I do!

  2. I always heard fresh was too watery to bake with- have you had any issues? You definitely make it seem easier than I thought!

  3. Can you believe I’ve never tasted pumpkin pie? Sad, I know, and I can’t make Sarah’s party. 😦

  4. Pingback: Spicy Thai Noodle Soup Recipe | Sifting Through…Expat Edition

Leave a Reply

