Mission Accomplished!

We found a postbox for each monarch since pillar postboxes were introduced during Queen Victoria’s reign.

Victoria 20 June 1837 – 22 January 1901

Found in Chelsea, London

Edward VII 22 January 1901 – 6 May 1910

Found in Highgate Village, London

George V 6 May 1910 – 20 January 1936

East Finchley, London

If anyone can tell me why his boxes don’t have a ‘V’ I’d greatly appreciate it!

Edward VIII 20 January – 11 December 1936 (abdicated)

Found in East Finchley, London

George VI 11 December 1936 – 6 February 1952

Found in Hackney, London

Elizabeth II 6 February 1952 – present

Found in Archway, London

This was a tag team effort. The mission was a lot easier to complete having another set of eyes. Thanks, G!

This entry was published on 22/06/2011 at 8:28 PM. It’s filed under London and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished!

  1. taramoyle on said:

    Great idea!

  2. I’m so jealous! Did you go out searching for these or did you just randomly discover them once you started looking? I used to live in Hendon, but we hated North London so we moved to Southwest London and love it! I wonder if I’ll find any down here!

  3. We lived in Tooting and hated it and moved north. How funny.

    We started keeping a look out after I read about the history. We got really serious after we found the Edward VIII box. I bet a scavenger hunt can be made of finding them!

  4. Eek! I thought I had already commented on this post and commended you on an awesome job well done. I love treasure-hunt-like things like this, especially in London.

    I often wish I lived closer to London or in the zone system but I had to make the choice to give my dogs a bit of a garden!

  5. Loving your detective work! I will checkout out each post box I pass from now on. B x

  6. Wow! I never knew that! That’s amazing.

Leave a comment