Holiday!

Hope you sang that a-la Madonna. I did. To say I am thrilled about our upcoming holiday is an understatement. We initially toyed with Barcelona but I really wanted to go some place I haven’t been to. We considered Dubai, Malta, and Istanbul. But Croatia won out after I saw it on a few tube ads. The picture used was beautiful and I wished I could find it to share it. But instead I will share these of our destination Dubrovnik, Croatia.

I never imagined Croatia could look so beautiful considering its war history and I am happily surprised. I am a sucker for cobblestone roads and the gorgeous back alleys are calling to be lost in. I am ready to read up on all there is to do there. You can too here if you’re curious. We will be going for a few days in the early spring, which seems to be a good time to visit: not too warm and just before prices are raised for the tourist season. Expedia offered a nice package deal that included a great hotel with free breakfast. Can’t complain when free food is added to a deal.

So far the only thing on our agenda is a day trip to Split but otherwise we will just get lost in Dubrovnik, walk around on the beach and drink Croatian beer (that’s more me than G). Can not wait.

 

*Images used link to original source

This entry was published on 15/01/2011 at 12:04 PM. It’s filed under travel, Vacation/Holiday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Holiday!

  1. Oh wow. Can I just say how absolutely jealous I am!! Well, not jealous, as that implies something negative but I am certainly envious and certainly look forward to seeing your photos. I was nearby in Serbia last year and was taken back by the natural beauty. I believe Croatia is far more beautiful.

  2. It’s going to be an amazing trip! Can’t wait to hear about it. =)

  3. I have heard nothing but good things about Croatia. I’d love to go myself… Can’t wait to hear about it!

  4. looks gorgeous! We are considering visiting the dalmation coast on a cruise so can’t wait to hear what you think.

  5. YAYAYAY! We went to Croatia in 2009 and it was FANTASTIC. Let me know if you want any tips, as we flew to Dubrovnik and did a bit of ferrying to islands, Split, Korcula, Hvar, etc. OOOOH can’t wait for you!

  6. WOW!!! I’m so jealous!! I have heard such great things about Croatia and have wanted to go for years now. Please take a million pictures and blog about everything you do! Can’t wait to live vicariously through you on this trip! Have fun!

  7. That is UTTERLY GORGEOUS. This is the newest addition to my eventual vacation destination list, for sure!

  8. This is somewhere I’ve never even considered visiting for vacation, for the same reasons as you, but it looks lovely. One of my grooms last year was from Serbia and had told me how beautiful it was there so I’m sure Croatia is beautiful too. Looking forward to reading and seeing pics of your adventure!

Leave a Reply

