Sunday in a nutshell

What an amazing Sunday it was! Aside from some crazy happenings the night before (some asshat climbed into our 1st aka 2nd floor flat but was frightened away by the alarm they set off as they tried to make their way around) we had a great relaxing day. Well needed! G and I walked three miles south to Hampstead Heath. The day was gorgeous. It would have been sinful not to take advantage of it. I wish I had taken pictures of all the pretty houses we passed by… Next time! After an unsuccessful attempt to eat at The Alice House (the kitchen was understaffed so the wait was way long) we had lunch at a nearby chain and headed back home. On our way home we ran into Emma Thompson for the second time that afternoon. The first time was on some private road. I can’t say that I’ve ever run into a celebrity twice in a day. There’s a first.

After arriving home and relaxing for a bit I started on the ciabatta dough I started yesterday. I am still perfecting my shaping skills but the end results are not too bad. They look and taste amazing.

Look at that crumb!

Peter Reinhart’s bread recipes never let me down. To go along with my beauties I made some some blushed tomatoes.

(before)

(after)

Tomorrow I will make a nice pesto, mozzarella and sun blushed tomato sandwich. Haven’t looked forward to a packed lunch in ages.

*Sigh* Wish I could have more Sundays like this (minus the whole I-have-to-deal-with-cops thing).

PS- Sorry for the quick entry. I really, really mainly wanted to show off my loaves 🙂

This entry was published on 10/10/2010 at 11:29 PM. It’s filed under baking, exercise, food, life, London and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Sunday in a nutshell

  1. That’s what blushed tomatoes look like!! I bet they’re delicious on that bread. Speaking of that bread: I need to get my arse in gear and start homemaking the Beeson daily bread; this inspiring loaf is totally the kick m arse needs 🙂

    • I sent you the recipe for the blushed tomatoes (I think). Definitely give it a try. Deeelicious. And I HATE tomatoes. Well, raw ones anyway.

      Can’t wait to see what loaf you will bake. There are sooo many to choose from.

  2. Roberta on said:

    Yum!

  3. Your ciabattea is sexy. I want to sink my teeth into it. I can’t wait for you to go on your baking adventure in Paris!

Leave a Reply

