Look what I can do…

…or rather…sew.

Can you tell I miss Texas a little? I had several fabric to choose from but I kept going back to the cowboys with the red background-so bright, so vibrant. Take a closer look:

Isn’t it adorable? I saved the scraps for I don’t know what, a headband? A little wallet? I guess I would need a sewing machine for that. Oh well. I am considering taking another class, a clutch making class perhaps. The Make Lounge was very fun and the teacher was patient and quite bubbly, singing along to the music playing in the background. The only thing that could have made it better was if they had served goodies? Wait! They did! A tray of goodies awaited class members: tea, coffee, wine, biscuits and crisps. I thought alcohol and machinery didn’t mix but apparently the owners of the shop think differently. I didn’t pour myself a glass until I was half way done with my class. The stitching in my handles are a bit crap so maybe I can blame it on the wine? Well I know better for next time.

Here are some pictures of the workshop location:

Isn’t it cute? Glad I found a nice place to go to and learn to create things. There’s so much to be said about making things with your hands. Oh! And not only did I possibly discover a new hobby but also a great neighborhood. The workshop is located in the gorgeous neighborhood (or is it neighbourhood?) of Islington, off of Upper Street. The whole street is full of restaurants and cute shops. I cannot wait to go and explore it some weekend soon.

This entry was published on 29/09/2010 at 10:07 PM. It’s filed under Creating, London and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “Look what I can do…

  1. I ❀ your cowboy!

  2. Sara on said:

    Nice job, Melizza! I’m off to sewing class myself tonight…Making a dress. πŸ™‚

    • Sweet, Just so you know, I was asked by the instructor what inspired me to take the class and I said, ‘My friend Sara.’ πŸ™‚ Post pics of your dress! I want to see!

  3. Barb on said:

    So jealous! Our local fabric store and I are becoming quite familiar. But my skills are very rudimentary.

  4. Suuuuuuper cuteness! I have had fabric for some valances forEVER (since the old house) so perhaps I’ll break that out soon. First, though, I need to figure out who has my sewing machine. I have a true love/hate relationship with it.

  5. Sarah on said:

    I don’t know how I’ve never heard of that place but I’m definitely going to the next one! I love the print you choose!

  6. That is so cute! And yes, definitely a reminder of Texas. πŸ™‚

  7. Islington is my haunt, so if you want any tips or recommendation the next time you go to Make Lounge, let me know. There is also a great knitting shop called Loop in Camden Passage (near the Angel tube station) that has knitting classes that I keep meaning to go to!

  8. I’ve been wanting to go to the make lounge for ages! Definitely going to have to try it out now. Very cute bag!

Leave a Reply

