¡Feliz cumpleaños!

I have been wanting to visit Sevilla ever since my awesome college roommate lived there during her year abroad. I wanted to explore the medieval churches and discover all the Moroccan influences. I finally got my chance this past weekend. G and I took a nice five day trip to Sevilla and stayed at a nice hotel twenty minutes from the city center. If I had to do it again I would have picked a hotel in the center of town. That’s where all the pretty was. I imagined all of Sevilla to be as pretty as the center: romantic, old and rustic. I’m glad that the city center was just as I had pictured it, even if wasn’t huge. There was a maze of alleys and one turn brought you to a new cafe/bar/ice cream place. You can definitely make a day of exploring all the side streets.

I turned 30 Monday and we celebrated with a yummy breakfast, lounging by the pool, a nice siesta, some dinner and a flamenco performance. And here is my birthday in pictures:

Greg got me the perfect card

We had breakfast in the hotel, next to the green house.

This coffee was so dark, so rich, so great. Along with a pot of hot coffee I got a pot of hot milk. Yes, yes, yes. That’s how you do it folks.

Lounging, working on my natural tan. There was a bar by the pool but I refused to pay the inflated prices.

What was this? Got this pretty piece of fruit at breakfast. It had the texture of a nectarine but yellow. And tiny.

Tanned and ready to go out. You can see the football stadium behind me. The crowd could be heard Saturday night during a game. It was pretty cool.

I love taking pictures of alleys and long windy streets.

And of churches…

Tinte de verano drink at La Carbonería. It was deee-licious!

Sangria time. My husband doesn’t drink alcohol (or coffee!!!) but he managed to drink a couple of glasses (not the jug) of it. Wow.

Sangria was followed with a shot of vodka and pineapple juice. Very tasty.

I wish I could have gotten a better shot. The picture doesn’t provide the feel of the performance. It was very intense. The flamenco dancer danced to a man singing and another playing a guitar. Very amazing.

Holla! I’m 30.

This entry was published on 09/06/2010 at 2:12 PM. It’s filed under birthday, food, Picture of the Day, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “¡Feliz cumpleaños!

  1. Happy birthday again! Lovely pictures and I’m so jealous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

