Make my flat a home, please

I didn’t realize this until now but I’m pretty lazy when it comes to designing/organizing a home. Here it is, 2 weeks after the bulk of our shipment arrived and most of the decorative pieces are stacked here and there, the bookcase is a mess, the last pile of my clothes are sitting on the sofa screaming to be put away and the walk-in closet still needs a lot of work. Oy. I like to do a lot of things myself: cook, clean, plan a wedding. But when it comes to making a house look cute and cozy I suck. I would love for people to walk into our flat and be taken away with how beautiful/chic/modern/cozy (pick one, I don’t know what I want it to look like) it is. If we could afford a designer I would hire one. I can’t see the big picture like a designer can. I can’t picture possible patterns, layouts, or missing pieces that complete a look. Nada. Maybe reading some design blogs to get some inspiration can help? Ugh, too much work. I’d prefer someone come over and tell me what to do. For free.

This entry was published on 18/05/2010 at 7:58 AM. It’s filed under London and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Make my flat a home, please

  1. Roberta on said:

    You love craigslist right? Why don’t you see if someone wants to help in exchange for your good referral. You might find an interior designer or a student designer or a home organizer just starting out that would love to have some experience to reference. =D

  2. mujerboricua on said:

    That is a great idea! I will have to see what I can find/do about that.

  3. Trish on said:

    If it’s not done by the time I visit I will do it for bread. No dough needed! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

