Let me show you around

The one thing I look forward to the most these days is reading my email as soon as I wake up. I get to read all about Greg’s day and our soon to be London life. This past weekend was rough. Very rough. How rough? This rough:Ā 


(Penny checks out the destruction)

Our appraisal was scheduled for Monday and this wreck happened Friday. I had to find someone who would be willing to come fix it over the weekend and hope it wouldn’t break the bank. Come Saturday there is a WICKED storm with some crazy gusting winds. So crazy I was woken up at around 7 AM by a loud crash. I was convinced something had crashed into the side of the house! Thankfully that wasn’t the case. I went along my business, went to the gym, had a fabulous time with Trish and came home and went to bed. Sometime on Sunday I look outside and there is a HUGE tree limb in the front of the house. I could barely drag it out of the way. So now I had to deal with the fence and the damn tree limb. Precious.

I have to admit that I left all the home repair responsibilities to Greg. And it’s not because he’s a man (hello, it’s me) but because he bought the house while we were dating so I always felt it was his. I didn’t start calling it ours until, well, very recently. He was used to taking responsibility for things when they broke and I was so okay with that. I have to admit, this is the second house I have ever lived in. All the chores and upkeep BLOW MY MIND. I think I might be destined to be a lazy renter. I mowed for the very first time in my life this weekend! Anyhow, I digress. Having to call people and try to find someone to fix the fence and tend to the tree limb left me beside myself. This all came after a bunch of other crazy stuff that left me running around Austin doing errands without my head. Thankfully someone came Sunday and sorted it all out for me and the appraiser wasn’t any the wiser. PHEW!

So this brings me back to why I like waking up and reading my emails. I look forward to hearing from Greg, which starts my day in a good (usually, last week wasn’t so good) way. So today’s treat was pictures of our new flat! Let me show you around:

Here is our guest bathroom. I think I will be using this one. Check out that rain shower head. Um, yeah!

This is the guest bedroom aka our walk-in closet. There are no closets in the entire flat. Interestingly enough this wasn’t the only place G looked at that had no closets. We’ll be making a trip to Ikea to get some racks and shelving and make it into a proper walk-in.

Inside the guest bedroom/walk-in:

Below is the entrance to the basement. The basement was the winning amenity for me. It holds an American sized fridge (not the teeny dorm fridges Brits often tend to own) which we will utilize for freezer space the most. The basement is also a GREAT place for the litter boxes. WOO HOO! That is my favorite part. Is that sad?

Hello, sexy fridge.

It also has a washer AND a dryer! Having a dryer in an apartment is pretty rare because space is priceless. Usually flats have a washer and that’s about it. We lucked out in that we got a dryer in ours.

Hallway

And not only did we luck out with a washer and dryer but we also have a dishwasher! I could have lived without the dishwasher (and well, without the dryer too) but Greg really wanted that dishwasher.

Here is our living room, which will also be our guest bedroom courtesy of an air mattress.

Our little dining area in the corner.

Pretty, pretty fireplace. I wonder if it works?

Master bath.

And finally the master that has a door that leads to our private garden.

Can’t wait to furnish it with our stuff. We’ll be shipping some of our furniture so that will hopefully make it a home sooner rather than later. So. There you have it. I think my husband did good. Real good.

This entry was published on 24/03/2010 at 12:18 PM. It’s filed under Austin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Let me show you around

  1. the flat looks great!! i don’t know what it is about overseas, but closets are not required? we also spent a lot of time at ikea finding closets and shelves, etc! the place becomes your best friend šŸ™‚ and btw, the whole dryer thing? is underrated – we didn’t have one in saudi and it was not fun, i’m so thankful we bought one when we moved to bahrain. and yet we HAD a dishwasher and now we don’t…i have one, but technically his name is ‘husband’. i’m jealous!…of your dishwasher…sad?

    anyway the place looks so “london-y” and cute and fab! you’re going to love it!

    • mujerboricua on said:

      It’s weird that there no closets. In the US you can’t call it a bedroom unless it has a window and a closet (right?).

      I looked at the UK Ikea website and their prices are lower than the US. I was really surprised, and thankful, by that.

      Looking forward to expat living!

  2. Sara Holliday on said:

    So pretty, Melizza! I can see you making it look like your own personalized space in no time. I love the fireplace! And the rain shower head! I want to visit even more now.

    • mujerboricua on said:

      I can’t wait for you to visit already! I will promise not to hog the guest shower šŸ™‚ You and Heather should visit for NYE 2011!

  3. Ruby on said:

    I think Greg will be glad to get in the flat and ecstatic when Melizza gets there. Here is hoping the house closes soon! Melizza we are looking froward to seeing you one more time before you run off to London. Will try to visit you guys in London one of these days.

  4. Katrina on said:

    Sorry to hear about your problems with the house repairs, that sucks, I have no idea what I would do without Scott at a time like that, I would totally freak out. We had a large dead tree fall over last month in the back yard, thankfully it landed straight in the middle of the yard, but I still had no idea what to do next, so I feel your pain there! The flat looks super cute, I like the flooring in the kitchen that looks very nice and it looks like you will have tons of room-especially for a flat in England!!! I think you will put your decorating skills to great use and it will feel like home in no time. Send more pics when you get it all fixed up! I wish you the best of luck and just think how lucky you are to get an opportunity to live out of the states again!! I’m jealous!! I probably will never live outside the US again but I will definately need to come visit!! Miss you!

  5. You will get there, Melizza! I am so happy for you and your beautiful little flat. The waiting, the separation, the anticipation: it will make it all the more beautiful when you finally reunite. I promise. Stay strong! Peace and love to you…

  6. I LOVE THIS!! Congrats! You and Greg are going to have the best time decorating your charming new digs. šŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Welcome home « Sifting through…Expat Edition

Leave a Reply

