Oh, the places we will go

Last night I couldn’t sleep. I was up for two hours. I even got up and blogged about my Austin Marathon frustrations. I also thought about all the places I really would like to revisit with Greg. I was lucky to have done a bit of traveling when I was in college. Living in London made it possible to hop over to various cities for long weekends. That convenience is one of the benefits I am looking forward to the most.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Ireland. I’ve been three times and can easily see myself owning a B&B on the west coast. In ’01, I stayed in Killarney for four days and the weather was crazy beautiful: 70s and sunny. I rented a bike and rode to a nearby castle. I stayed at a hostel that was beside a pub. Heaven. And the Ring of Kerry is by far the lushest, greenest place I have ever been too. Gorgeous. Looking forward to going on a picnic with my honey. Can you picture us sitting on the mountain below?

Courtesy

While in the hostel in Killarney I asked a fellow backpacker about whereabouts I should go in Switzerland. He suggested Lauterbrunnen, saying it was well known for its numerous waterfalls. Waterfalls? I was sold. I got there and remained in awe until I left. Adventure sports were popular in the area so I decided to go paragliding right by those amazing waterfalls. Heaven. Now, I don’t think I will be paragliding soon because I decided long ago that I want to go sky jumping in Switzerland for my 3-0. Here’s hoping we don’t chicken out.

Courtesy

During my graduate study in London I didn’t get to travel outside of England that much. I managed to go to Bologna, Italy (with the sole purpose of eating bolognese spaghetti) and Barcelona via Girona, Spain. Barcelona is wonderful, goes without saying. But Girona…it’s a very romantic city in Catalonia, Spain. The city streets are all mostly cobbled. The alleys narrow and curvy. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Courtesy

Prague is the farthest east I’ve traveled in Europe. The castles there and in the surrounding area reminded me of something I would see in a Brothers Grimm fairytale.

Courtesy

And finally there’s Edinburgh, a city I see us visiting a lot sooner than the others since it’s just a train ride away.

Courtesy

I guess we will have to start saving our pennies because I have another list of places I want to discover together. But that’s for another post.

This entry was published on 16/02/2010 at 4:55 PM. It’s filed under life, marriage, moving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Oh, the places we will go

  1. Hi, Melizza! So good to hear from you again!

  2. Trish on said:

    So, so jealous of your travels. Sometimes I wish we didn’t have a house or jobs or families animals or possesions to worry about and instead could just pack a bag of necessities (and my camera) and travel together to wherever we wanted, having just enough money to be fed and have a roof over our head every night.

    You two are going to have so much fun! I don’t doubt you will go to all of these places together, plus many more wonderful countries and cities!

Leave a Reply

