Bright Ideas. Maybe?

My original doctor retired. I loved, loved, loved her. Upon meeting she sat and talked with me for 25 minutes, which to me, these days, is unheard of. Well, I made an appointment with the first doctor available and well…he was a douche. The entire appointment lasted 7 minutes, tops! That includes the examination! Dude, at least fake it and make small talk with me. GIVE ME MY MONEY’S WORTH, at least. In between checking his iPhone he was able to tell me that my back would get better in 3 to 6 weeks and maybe I shouldn’t run. And maybe, if I am interested, I can get physical therapy. Huh? Why don’t you tell me yes or no? Whatevs. I will take my pain killers, do my stretches and go from there.

Rant over 🙂

This entry is about writing down my bright (or not so bright) ideas on what career I should pursue. They all may not be feasible, pies in the skies, but I figured it would be fun just to get them all out to see.

Possible Career Choices:

  • Event Planner: I love hosting parties and mingling. I love finding the best buys and trying to work on a budget. But in the end it’s my party and no one is paying me to please my guests. I am fearful I won’t be very good at the customer service end of it. I mean, I am pretty over it after doing it for so many years in higher education. Also, I am not the best at coming up with original ideas. I get my inspirations from others. But do decorations have to be original? I don’t think so. I think the execution and the customer’s happiness are the most important things.
  • Bread Maker: One of my favorite jobs ever was working at On the Rise Bakery in Roanoke, Va. It wasn’t until I moved to Austin that I could afford to work one job. The bakery job was my last second job (along with my soul-draining FA job). I worked Saturdays from 7 to 4 and my main duties were…drum roll please…customer service and making the pizzas. My boss Steve was crazy cool and he let us eat the crusty breads and gooey-tastic pizzas. His pizza recipe is a sauce-less pizza and it is amazing. And that says a lot coming from a Brooklyn girl. We know pizza. Anyhow, I’ve had a lot of trouble finding breads that are crusty outside and chewy inside. Steve imported a European oven so I wonder if that had a lot to do with the texture. I dreamed of taking over the bread shop. I was reminded of the dream recently when I craved some crusty goodness and failed to find any here. So why not bake it and sell it? I loved working in the bread shop so surely I still would, right? My fear with this idea is the start-up costs. I would need a storefront, more importantly, a loan! Oy.
  • Invitation Designer: This career move would need a lot of learning. I know nothing of designing software but I am willing to learn if that is what I choose to do. Invitations can be so beautiful. And they can easily be sold on Etsy.com, so no start-up costs. Sadly, I don’t think I am creative enough to illustrate new designs. I guess this could be a fun hobby…that can become more?
  • Doctor/Physician’s Assistant/Physical Therapist: My pies in the sky trio. I don’t want to go back to school. No need to get into further student loan debt without a guarantee I will love what I do. These are careers that would allow me to help people and earn some nice cash. Cash is nice. I like cash.
  • Writer: My confidence in writing has greatly depleted since graduating college. I lack discipline and drive. I hate being critiqued. So much so I refuse to edit my own work, fearful it’s not as great as I thought it was. Fucked up, huh? I know I was once great at writing but now, not so much. I still dream of getting published. Not sure if I’d like to write on specific assigned topics. I might get writer’s block from the pressure. It seems writing for pleasure is what I have left. Another hobby that can become more if I hungered for more.

These are my ideas for now. I might add some more if I get inspired in the next couple of days. I’m currently taking suggestions 🙂

This entry was published on 22/08/2009 at 4:43 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Bright Ideas. Maybe?

  1. Roberta on said:

    A nice list. How far are you into researching each one? It’d be great if you could shadow some people to get a feel for whether you’d like the career or not.

    I also loved my baking job, but it was so physically demanding (14-16 hour days), but I think it was because they were short bakers.

    I’ve been thinking about cake decorating and confectionery. That is my pie (cake) in the sky dream right now.

    I’m so excited for you. You are brave!

    • mujerboricua on said:

      I have looked into some bread recipes to try. I have a Kitchen Aid to do the kneading so I have no excuse to try my hand at it.

      Also, if I do decide to be crazy and open a store, I found there are lots of grants for minority and women. So the help is out there. And that is reassuring.

      I have considered taking an entrepreneur class before I decide to dive into anything serious.

      We’ll see. Eeek!

Leave a Reply

