Motivation needed

I was losing motivation for all things exercise back in September so when I got injured and was told by my physical therapist that I couldn’t do anything for 8 weeks, I welcomed it. But I’ve since stopped my physical therapy, I’m feeling better but I can’t will will myself to get back to the gym. I might go maybe, once every two weeks. I did do 4 weeks worth of Boot Camp in January and now I find myself back to doing nothing. I need some exercise mojo! I went to the doctor this morning and I*did not* like what the scale had to tell me. I’ve gained quite a bit of wait since the summer.

It doesn’t help that I am unhappy at work. My “mopiness” has been seeping into all of my activities. I’d rather sleep in than wake up early. I even have a wedding that I need to look good for yet that isn’t motivation enough these days. I literally need someone to drag me by the hand and take me to the gym. Or I need a gym buddy. I need to make my health a priority again.

Problem is, if I get back to eating healthy and working out, it’ll stop eventually and I’ll be back to bad habits. My weight has been going up and down since I was 12. That has to be remedied but I can’t seem to find a solution.

This entry was published on 12/02/2009 at 10:45 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Motivation needed

  1. Roberta on said:

    I was having the same problem. I joined myfitnesspal.com. The best part of the site is reading the success postings. It is very motivating and having a tool to record all my food and exercise habits has helped me reign in my eat everything in sight and sloth around tendencies. It took me a couple of weeks before I felt like recording my daily stuff was actually helping. When I started, I didn’t meet my daily goals, but I gradually made changes that I’m now proud of. Getting encouragement from others’ successes helped me. =) You can do it!

  2. mujerboricua on said:

    Thanks Roberta! I think I can do it. I’ve done it before so I will do it again. I am hoping for sooner rather than later. I’ll check out that site and see if it proves to help me be successful!

  3. Becky on said:

    I am with you in that slug! I’m up again on weight, and although I’ve been managing a run once a week or so, that’s it.

    Back over the summer, we made a schedule – and that seemed to help me.

    I dunno. Maybe we should be virtual training buddies and work out a plan or something! Wish I could be there to drag you out (and vice versa!)

Leave a Reply

