Sugar-free does the body good

I thought that when I gave up sweets I would turn into the devil’s bride and spit fire. So far it’s day 4 (of 40) and I am doing pretty darn well. Not only well but very energized. I’ve been spinning up a storm and even made it to my weekly track practice. What helped inspire me was sharing a workout spreadsheet with my friend Michelle, who happens to be very competitive. And anyone who has played Cranium with me knows that I can be quite competitive myself. Using Google Docs I made a spreadsheet where we can track our type of exercise, calories burned, level of intensity, etc. Take a looksie: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pqcQLYL96I2GFiPVhUcJ_RA

Still working on making it more useful but for now it has gotten the job done-sparking both of our drives. It’ll also be nice to refer to and see our progress. I have a Garmin watch that graphs all my runs and that has helped a bit. I need to start being a lot better about analyzing the data, seeing why my bad runs were, well, bad. It’s often because I had margaritas the night before, or greasy nachos. My best runs have been when I’ve eaten a Luna bar or something like it beforehand. But sadly I can’t stomach those things. Forcing one down is not an option. I’ve started eating half a bagel instead. In the winter I’ll switch to oatmeal. Finding the perfect fuel is pretty crucial to me because if I start my run on a bad foot (no pun intended) then my confidence is shot. With my long runs getting longer I can’t afford to have bad runs. Funny enough, last season, I didn’t start enjoying my runs until we started doing 12 miles and over. So…with that said I hope next week’s 12 miler will prove to be nice, steady and doable. Last week I felt very done after having done 7. I had to remind myself several times that once the mileage reaches double digits I am going to wish for my single digit days. I was supposed to do 10 but cut it short since I was running 6 the next day. Glad I did because the trail run wore me out.

Anyhow, I’m seeing a lot less sluggishness with my decreased sugar intake. I hope that I remain energized and I’ll start producing some faster times in the next few weeks. I’ve been obsessed with becoming faster. Must be the competitive streak in me.

Oh! Greg and I start swimming lessons on Monday. Yes, we both don’t know how to swim. And yay to his employer (pogo.com) for letting him leave early to attend the lesson! I’m very excited. By next year I hope to have competed in my first triathlon. So wish us luck! We’ve both struggled to learn and hopefully by the end of the month we can officially be guppies!

This entry was published on 04/07/2008 at 10:18 PM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Sugar-free does the body good

  1. Sugar-free for 40 days? Good luck! You are stronger than I am. I know what you mean about bad fuel leading to bad runs. It never fails that if I eat crap that is not really good for me I have a terrible long run. I never cramp unless I cave and have a cookie the day of my long run LOL. I’m going to have to really work on the fueling issue now that I am training for a marathon. I have a solid routine for a half-marathon but I’ve never run further than that. I don’t know if 1/2 a PBJ and some Sports Beans will work for a 20-miler. I also need to re-research how to eat the days *before* those types of runs. I read this book and it mentioned that the day before a race is not the day to carbo-load. That should have been done the few days prior. So much to think about – *sigh*.

Leave a Reply

