When did I forget about my own birthday?

My birthday is in exactly five days and frankly I don’t care. But you don’t understand, that is very unlike me. I LOVE my birthday. I sit corrected…loved my birthday. My birthday was the one day when I felt it was okay to remind everyone of how wonderful and amazing I am. Other than your wedding day, your birthday is the day that is all about you. So to my sadness I forgot it was coming up. Is it because I am getting old and want to stop being reminded of that? Is it because my old teenage self would be disappointed with the twenty-something me? Or is it because my best friends are all far away? I like to think it’s the latter.

I’d love to celebrate my birthday this weekend with my new Austin friends but I recently had them over for a housewarming and would hate to ask them for their time once again. So I am stuck wondering what to do with such little time to plan anything. Even though my pocket hasn’t been drastically affected by gas prices I refuse to drive anywhere unless it is truly necessary, so a road trip is out. I’d love to cook a grand dinner for friends but again, that entails asking people for time. What to do, what to do…?

I wouldn’t be so concerned if my best friends were here. They would throw me a huge party and I would blow out candles from at least three different birthday cakes given to me the week leading up to my birthday. Sigh. Those were the (fat) days.

This entry was published on 04/06/2008 at 9:49 AM. It’s filed under birthday, friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

